The first time I met love, I was sixteen years old. I met her in the most unexpected of places, in the most unexpected of ways. At the given time, I never could’ve known, that this, is what love was supposed to be.

Love used to wear her hair in a high ponytail, love used to pout in every picture she took. I never expected love to be this way.

I had a completely different vision of love than the one I got. For me, love was shy, love would blush whenever I complimented her. But when I met love, she was neither of those things. Love was never shy, she was always confident. Love would hardly blush when I said something about her, but that’s what made her all the more intriguing to me.

Love made me rethink everything I said and did, love made me question whether the love I had envisioned was really love or not.

Love had a way about her that made me want to sing all the time, a way I’d never felt before. Love truly was something else entirely. But love also had her flaws. Love was not perfect, and she reminded me of that fact every time we spoke.

Love didn’t feel everything I felt so deeply. Love was not ready for commitment when I was. Love was never constant in my life, love came, and love left as she pleased. Each time she came, I couldn’t help but love her. Each time she left… I still loved her. Because love made me say and do things I never thought I’d be doing, love truly was something I’d never expected.

Love was like a whirlwind in my life, love introduced me to all her friends. Soon I found myself so invested in her life, I didn’t realize where my life ended, and where her life started. It was an oddity, living a life where I knew everything and everyone, but I didn’t really know anything or anyone.

Love helped me grow in ways I never could’ve seen myself growing. Love believed in me where I found it hard to believe in myself. Love never gave up on me, when I all but had.

Love had an odd way of showing she cared, she never could outright say it, but she showed it with everything she did. Love truly was the most unexpected thing I’d ever encountered.

Love filled gaps in my life I never knew I had, but her absence created gaps in my life as well. But I learned to bear with her passings as well. Each time she came, I welcomed her with a smile, each time she left… I wished her well, with a teary smile she’d never get to see.

Love was not the best person I’d ever met, but she had something about her that kept me coming back. Love made me strong, yet she made me weak. Love was my strength while simultaneously becoming my weakness.

For all her flaws and imperfections, to me, she’d always be love. And for love, I’d wait till forever. Love was the most unexpected thing I’d ever experienced, and she became the one oddity in my life I just couldn’t live without.

After everything was said and done, eight years of our lives spent together I finally told love who she was to me. And just how much she meant to me. That day love made me the happiest man in the world, she said the words that finally made love the constant in my life that I’d always wanted her to be: “you will forever be my always.” 

Love truly was the most unexpected thing ever, but eventually even the unexpected was something I’d grown to learn was where the best of things happened to us.

One thought on “Love Was The Most Unexpected Person I’d Ever Met

Leave a comment